Go Green Initative

General Information

Congratulations to Douglas Byrd High School, winner of the 2019 Green Ribbon Award!  They are our first school to apply, be accepted at the N. C. state level and win the national Green Ribbon Award from the U.S. Department of Education.  They travelled to Washington D. C. in September 2019 to receive the award.  


This is an image that is linked to Earth's latest data for atmospheric CO2

Logo for Our Partner Sustainable Sandhills


To find out more about our partner Sustainable Sandhills visit their site.


Cumberland County Go Green Initiatives's Facebook Logo


Cumberland County Go Green Initiative Schools has a Facebook page.  Like us on Facebook!



Walking the Walk:  Green Schools of the Year 2019

Is your School the Best of the Best GO GREEN School?  It is that time of year when we ask, ‘Are YOU the Greenest GO GREEN School in Cumberland County?’  Tell us all the special things that make your school green and great.   Send along evidence in pictures that support your claim.  The deadline for entries is June 5, 2019, 5 pm.  We look forward to hearing from your school.

2016 Cliffdale Elementary
2017 TC Berrien Elementary, Hope Mills Middle and Jack Britt HS
2018 Seventy-First HS, and JW Coon Elementary
2019 Walker-Spivey Elementary,  Douglas Byrd High School
2020 Your School?  

Congratulations to our GO GREEN Certified Districts
Gray’s Creek District:  all schools are Certified GO GREEN SCHOOLS!
Jack Britt District:  all schools are Certified GO GREEN SCHOOLS!
South View District: all schools are Certified GO GREEN SCHOOLS!
Westover District:  all schools are Certified GO GREEN SCHOOLS!

GO GREEN Certified Schools

Does Your School Have What It Takes To Become Green Certified?

All of our schools are invited to implement the Go Green Initiative program by teaching personal responsibility and environmental stewardship of the earth, realizing cost savings from water and energy conservation and reducing solid waste disposal.  However, schools that wish to be  “Green Certified” must evaluate their school using the Certification Rubrics of required and optional measures.  Schools are certified and then re-certified after 2 years.  Requirements for re-certification include updating the rubrics through school evaluations and scheduling a walk through with the Go Green coordinator. 
Self Evaluation rubrics are all part of a school’s sustainability plan.  As a result of updating and increasing a schools ‘grade’, schools work toward a comprehensive school sustainable environment.  The rubrics incorporate the five principles.  Each has strategies to choose but is not limited to the suggested strategies.  Many successful programs have worked outside the box toward their sustainability successes:

1.  Awareness and Education
2.  Energy Conservation and Efficiency
3.  Water Conservation and Efficiency
4.  Pollution Prevention
5.  Waste Reduction and Recycling

When a school has satisfied the requirements, they are recognized county-wide and awarded as a Certified Green School by the Sustainable Sandhills Board of Directors and have all the bragging rights that come with it!

District 1 – Lillian Black Elementary, Long Hill Elementary, Manchester Elementary, Raleigh Road Elementary, Spring Lake Middle

District 2 – Seventy-First High, Anne Chestnut Middle, Bill Hefner Elementary, Brentwood Elementary, E. E. Miller Elementary, Lake Rim Elementary, Loyd Auman Elementary, Seventy-First Classical Middle

Cumberland County Schools' Green Schools Certified LogoDistrict 3 – Jack Britt High, E. Melvin Honeycutt Elementary, New Century International Elementary, New Century International Middle, John Griffin Middle, Stoney Point Elementary

District 4 – South View High, C. Wayne Collier Elementary, Ed V. Baldwin Elementary, Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary, Hope Mills Middle, Rockfish Elementary, South View Middle  

District  5 –  Douglas Byrd High, Cumberland Road Elementary, Douglas Byrd Middle, Howard Learning Academy, Ireland Drive Middle, J. W. Coon Elementary, Mary McArthur Elementary, Massey Hill Classical High, Montclair Elementary, Sherwood Park Elementary, William H. Owen Elementary

District 6 – Cape Fear High, Armstrong Elementary, District 7 Elementary, Eastover Central Elementary, Seabrook Elementary, Stedman Elementary, Stedman Primary, Sunnyside Elementary

District 7 – Gray’s Creek High,  Alderman Road Elementary, Gallberry Farm Elementary, Gary’s Creek Elementary, Gray’s Creek Middle

District 8 – Westover High, Ben Martin Elementary, Cliffdale Elementary, Morganton Road Elementary, Ponderosa Elementary, Westover Middle

District 9 – Terry Sanford High School, A. B. Wilkins High, Alma Easom Elementary, Glendale Acres Elementary, Teresa C. Berrien Elementary, Walker-Spivey Elementary

District 10 – E. E. Smith High, Ferguson-Easley Elementary, Luther ‘Nick’ Jeralds Middle School, Margaret Willis Elementary, Ramsey Street High School, Reid Ross Classical Middle and High, Warrenwood Elementary, Westarea Elementary


Published by Gloria Lengel on November 19, 2019

Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© 2019 Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to

CCS Web Manager

Website Accessibility
I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias | Non-Discrimination Policy and Grievances