Side Go Green Initiative

General Information


This is an image that is linked to Earth's latest data for atmospheric CO2

Logo for Our Partner Sustainable Sandhills


To find out more about our partner Sustainable Sandhills visit their site.

Cape Fear River Assembly Fall Forums


Cape Fear River Assembly Presents it’s Annual Fall Forums:  Drinking Water

These forums are free and being held across the state: 

Elon University Tuesday, October 16
Campbell University Thursday, October 18
Research Triangle Park Tuesday, October 21
UNC Wilmington Thursday, October 25

Register here.




Cumberland County Go Green Initiatives's Facebook Logo


Cumberland County Go Green Initiative Schools has a Facebook page.  Like us on Facebook!



Congratulations to our GO GREEN Certified Districts
Gray’s Creek District:  all schools are Certified GO GREEN SCHOOLS!
Westover District:  all schools are Certified GO GREEN SCHOOLS!
South View District: all schools are Certified GO GREEN SCHOOLS!

GO GREEN Certified Schools

Does Your School Have What It Takes To Become Green Certified?

All of our schools are invited to implement the Go Green Initiative program by teaching personal responsibility and environmental stewardship of the earth, realizing cost savings from water and energy conservation and reducing solid waste disposal.  However, schools that wish to be  “Green Certified” must evaluate their school using the Certification Rubrics of required and optional measures.  Schools are certified and then re-certified after 2 years.  Requirements for re-certification include updating the rubrics through school evaluations and scheduling a walk through with the Go Green coordinator. 
The Rubrics are all part of a school’s sustainability plan.  As a result of updating and increasing a schools ‘grade’, schools work toward a comprehensive school sustainable environment.  The rubrics incorporate the five principles.  Each has strategies to choose but are not limited to the page.  Many successful programs have worked outside the box for their successes:

1.  Awareness and Education
2.  Energy Conservation and Efficiency
3.  Water Conservation and Efficiency
4.  Pollution Prevention
5.  Waste Reduction and Recycling

When a school has satisfied the requirements, they are recognized county-wide and awarded as a Certified Green School by the Sustainable Sandhills Board of Directors and have all the bragging rights that come with it!

Walking the Walk:  Green Schools of the Year

Beginning in 2016, the Go Green Initiative began identifying those schools who not just said they were Green but Walked the Walk and Talked the Talk of sustainability.  Green Team Leaders, teachers, parents and administrators nominate their school for this honor.  This award is given each year in June as part of the Green Business Awards luncheon that celebrates businesses and groups around the Sandhills area of our state who not only say they are green but have the evidence they are green.  This includes agencies, and businesses in counties all the way south to Scotland County as well as Roberson to Montgomery County. 

Our first Year, Cliffdale Elementary beat out 11 other elementary schools for the bragging rights of Walking the Walk!  In 2017, Teresa C. Berrien Elementary took top honors with Hope Mills Middle and Jack Britt High School.  This year,  Seventy First High School took top honors with J.W. Coon Elementary through some really tough competition.  The Sustainable Sandhills nominating committee discussed in detail the various merits of the schools nominated.  We look forward to seeing our schools rise to the challenge of being the 2019 school that Walks the Walk!

District 1 – Lillian Black Elementary, Long Hill Elementary, Manchester Elementary, Raleigh Road Elementary, Spring Lake Middle

District 2 – Seventy-First High, Anne Chestnut Middle, Bill Hefner Elementary, Brentwood Elementary, E. E. Miller Elementary, Loyd Auman Elementary, Seventy-First Classical Middle

Cumberland County Schools' Green Schools Certified LogoDistrict 3 – Jack Britt High, E. Melvin Honeycutt Elementary, New Century International Middle, John Griffin Middle, Stoney Point Elementary

District 4 – South View High, C. Wayne Collier Elementary, Ed V. Baldwin Elementary, Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary, Hope Mills Middle, Rockfish Elementary, South View Middle  

District  5 –  Douglas Byrd High, Cumberland Mills Elementary, Cumberland Road Elementary, Douglas Byrd Middle,  Ireland Drive Middle, J. W. Coon Elementary, Mary McArthur Elementary, Massey Hill Classical High, Montclair Elementary, William H. Owen Elementary

District 6 – Cape Fear High, Armstrong Elementary, Beaver Dam Elementary, District 7 Elementary, Eastover Central Elementary, Mac Williams Middle, Seabrook Elementary, Stedman Primary, Sunnyside Elementary

District 7 – Gray’s Creek High,  Alderman Road Elementary, Gallberry Farm Elementary, Gary’s Creek Elementary, Gray’s Creek Middle

District 8 – Westover High, Ben Martin Elementary, Cliffdale Elementary, Morganton Road Elementary, Ponderosa Elementary, Westover Middle

District 9 – Terry Sanford High, A. B. Wilkins High, Alma Easom Elementary, Ashley Elementary, Glendale Acres Elementary, Teresa Berrien Elementary, Vanstory Hills Elementary, 
Walker-Spivey Elementary

District 10 – E. E. Smith High, Ferguson-Easley Elementary, Lucille Souders Elementary, Margaret Willis, Ramsey Street High, Reid Ross Classical Middle and High, Warrenwood Elementary, Westarea Elementary


Published by Gloria Lengel on October 12, 2018

Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias